Berlin-based Ensembles

Philharmonisches Bläserquintet Berlin

Past Dates

Tickets only through Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker

Introduction with Helge Jung
at 19:00, Ausstellungsfoyer (exhibition foyer)

The first brass quintet in the long history of the Kammermusikvereinigung of the Berliner Philharmoniker that has worked and played on a continuous basis was founded in 1988 and today counts among the best of its kind in Europe – an ensemble of wonderful sonority, unheard-of vitality and precision.

The programme for Musikfest Berlin will exclusively present works by Czech composers, embracing the time period from the 18th to the 20th century. Among them a brass quintet composed in 1929 by Pavel Haas, a pupil in the master class of Leoš Janáček, and like him a native of Brno. In 1941, Haas was deported to Theresienstadt, where, however, he kept on composing music. In 1944 he was killed - as were composers Hans Krása, Gideon Klein and Viktor Ullmann - in the extermination camp of Auschwitz.

Concert Programme

Anton Reicha
Quintet in B major op. 88/5

Pavel Haas
Quintet op. 10

Josef Bohuslav Foerster
Quintet in D major op. 95

Leoš Janáček
Mladi (Jugend)
Suite for wind quintet


Philharmonisches Bläserquintett Berlin
Henning Trog bassoon
Michael Hasel flute
Fergus McWilliam horn
Walter Seyfarth clarinet
Andreas Wittmann oboe