Award Ceremony

3sat Prize

To Milo Rau
director, invited to the Theatertreffen with “Five Easy Pieces”
Award ceremony as part of the Theatertreffen
following the performance of “Five Easy Pieces”

Milo Rau

Milo Rau

© IIPM, Thomas Müller

Past Dates

Since the year 1997, 3sat has been awarding the 3sat Prize, endowed with a sum of 10,000 Euro, during the Theatertreffen. The award distinguishes one or more artists from the circle of productions invited to the Theatertreffen, in appreciation of an influential, artistically innovative achievement.

This year, the prize will go to Milo Rau for his production “Five Easy Pieces”, which outlines the life and crimes of Belgian Marc Dutroux with a cast of children between the ages of 8 to 14 years. The jury’s statement says: “Rau may not make the monstrous events bearable, but he does make them communicable and in doing so, asks fundamental questions concerning structures of violence between minors and adults. Thus, Rau’s ‘Five Easy Pieces’ celebrate precisely what the Dutrouxs of this world want to annihilate: the wisdom, determination and defiance of children.”

In recent years, the 3sat Prize was awarded to Susanne Wolff, Dimiter Gotscheff, Sebastian Nübling, Katja Haß und Stephan Kimmig, Birgit Minichmayr, Annette Paulmann, Christoph Schlingensief, Nicolas Stemann, Sandra Hüller, Susanne Kennedy, Lina Beckmann and Herbert Fritsch.

The jury for the 2017 prize consists of Stephan Reuter (cultural editor and member of the Theatertreffen-jury, Daniel Richter (co-director of the 2017 Theatertreffen) and Wolfgang Horn (3sat editor).