Saariaho | Debussy

Chamber Music

Past Dates

An ensemble of outstanding soloists plays two new works of chamber music by Kaija Saariaho from Finland, one of the most important female composers of our times. "Je sens un deuxième Coeur" lives from reminiscences of her Troubadour opera "L’amour de loin"; "Terrestre" is a counterpart to the 'celestial' piece "Orion" for full orchestra.

Also from Finland, and also influenced by the French impressionist chamber music tradition, is the new work for guitar by Magnus Lindberg.

Two late sonatas by Claude Debussy complete the programme.

Concert Programme

Kaija Saariaho
Je sens un deuxième cœur
German Premiere

Manuel de Falla
Le Tombeau de Claude Debussy

Magnus Lindberg
Mano a mano für Gitarre Solo
German Premiere
Commissioned by the Turku Festival and Berliner Festspiele

Claude Debussy
Sonata for Flute, Harp and Viola

Claude Debussy
Sonata for Violoncello and Piano

Kaija Saariaho
German Premiere


Anssi Karttunen violoncello
Timo Korhonen guitar
Camilla Hoitenga flute
Garth Knox viola
Laura Mikkola piano
Héloïse Dautry harp