Brian Ferneyhough “Time and Motion Study II”

Brian Ferneyhough “Time and Motion Study II”

© Brian Ferneyhough

Past Dates

“Zeitgeist” features topical and updated music since the 1950s that corresponds to the present. Brian Ferneyhough’s (*1943) “Time and Motion Studies” capture the condition of the modern human subject-performer surrounded by an overpowering array of stimuli and demands while submitted to the dictates of constrained time and efficiency. Iannis Xenakis (1922–2001), in a number of pieces for voices and tape, takes position against fascism and war. To close, Ashley Fure (*1982) wrestles in „Shiver Lung“ with the animate vitality of matter and the mounting hum of ecological anxiety around us.

Three generations of composers whose seemingly unrelated works and aesthetics meet on a common horizon of concerns that characterise our conflicting present. An intense night with ensemble PHØNIX16, filled with voices, instruments, electronics, and food for thought.

Part 1

Brian Ferneyhough

Time and Motion Study I
for bass clarinet (1971-1977)

Time and Motion Study II
for singing cellist and live electronics (1973-1976)

Time and Motion Study III
for 16 solo voices with percussion and electronics (1974)

Part 2

Iannis Xenakis

for clarinet and cello (1971)

for tape (1957)

Pour la Paix
[a]LIVE version for mixed choir, speaker and tape (1981)
Texts by Françoise Xenakis

for tape (1960)

Phonèmes sumériens, assyriens, achéens et autres
for 12 voices (1967)

Part 3

Ashley Fure

Shiver Lung 2
for percussion and live electronics (2017) GP

Shiver Lung
for seven voices with percussion and live electronics (2016) GP

Nataliya Bogdanova, Estelle Lefort, Sirje Viise, Eva Zwedberg, soprano
Anna Caroline Olesen, Vanessa Chartrand-Rodrigue, Veronika Böhle, Michael Taylor, mezzo soprano, alto, counter tenor
Magnús Hallur Jónsson, Vladimir Mari’c-Mindoljevic, Florian Müncheberg, Douglas Nasrawi, tenor
Jonathan Boudevin, Oskar Koziołek Goetz, Immanuel Klein, Will Kwiatkowski, baritone, bass-baritone, bass
Miguel Pérez Iñesta bass clarinet
Séverine Ballon cello
Jonathan Boudevin percussion
Guillaume Cailleau, Maria Kourkouta video
Michael Havenstein, Simon Spillner sound direction
Timo Kreuser artistic director
Sonia Lescène production manager

With the support of Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD