Georges Aperghis

Georges Aperghis

© Xavier Aperghis

Past Dates

Following the concert:
“A shift in perspective”
Talk with Georges Aperghis and Yassin al-Haj Saleh
In English
Presented by field notes and MaerzMusik – Festival for Time Issues

Broadcast: Deutschlandfunk Kultur, “Konzert”, 27.03.2018, 20:03

A piece about the disappearances of our times, the people going missing right now …
Georges Aperghis

Georges Aperghis’ (*1945) new work for two voices and large ensemble, “Migrants,” takes a risk. By addressing the unspeakable human tragedies unfolding daily within Europe and on its fortified shores, the Greek émigré now based in France enters a terrain few composers choose to enter. “I want to give a face not only to the drowned corpses which wash up on Europe’s shores, but also to the scores of the living wandering through Europe without an identity, no longer officially recognised as living,” writes Aperghis.

This evening with Ensemble Resonanz weaves together two compositions that evoke the disappearances of our times. Can “contemporary music” find an adequate language to reflect dispossession, disappearance, death – while they are happening?

Leoš Janáček / Johannes Schöllhorn (1917–1919)
Zápisník zmizelého / The Diary of One Who Disappeared
for soprano, mezzo-soprano, piano, harp, three percussionists and strings, orchestrated by Johannes Schöllhorn (2017) WP

Georges Aperghis
In three movements for two female voices, piano, three percussionists and strings (2017/18) WP
Texts by Joseph Conrad and text fragments by refugees

Commissioned by Ensemble Resonanz, financed by the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung

Ensemble Resonanz
Rebecca Beyer, Barbara Bultmann, Mona Burger, Gregor Dierck, Tom Glöckner, David-Maria Gramse, Juditha Haeberlin, Christine Krapp, Benjamin Spillner, Swantje Tessmann, violin
Justin Caulley, Michael Falter, David Schlage, Tim-Erik Winzer, viola
Jörn Kellermann, Andreas Müller, Saerom Park, cello
Anne Hofmann, Benedict Ziervogel, double bass
Malika Maminova, Jens Ruland, Rie Watanabe, percussion
Gesine Dreyer, harp
Lorenzo Cossi, piano
Agata Zubel soprano
Christina Daletska mezzo-soprano
Emilio Pomàrico conductor

With kind support of the Ilse and Dr. Horst Rusch-Stiftung