Award Ceremony

3sat Prize

Awarding to Wiebke Puls
actor, invited to the Theatertreffen in the production of “Trommeln in der Nacht” (Drums in the Night)
Award ceremony as part of the Theatertreffen
following the performance of “Trommeln in der Nacht” (Drums in the Night)

Wiebke Puls

Wiebke Puls

© Tien Nguyen The

Past Dates

Since the year 1997, 3sat has been awarding the 3sat Prize, endowed with a sum of 10,000 Euro, during the Theatertreffen. The award distinguishes one or more artists from the circle of productions invited to the Theatertreffen, in appreciation of an influential, artistically innovative achievement.

This year, the prize will go to the actor Wiebke Puls for her acting performance in the production of “Trommeln in der Nacht” directed by Christopher Rüping at Münchner Kammerspiele. The jury’s statement says: “In Christopher Rüping’s production of ‘Trommeln in der Nacht (Drums in the Night)’, Wiebke Puls manages to sparkle within a brilliant ensemble, no matter which attitude she takes, which style of acting she employs. Whether it is naturalistic re-enactment, expressively comedic or a sounding body for Brecht’s language. She is immersed in her character at all times. Uncompromising and courageous. In short: Wiebke Puls shines in all the various facets.”

In recent years, the 3sat Prize was awarded to Susanne Wolff, Dimiter Gotscheff, Sebastian Nübling, Katja Haß und Stephan Kimmig, Birgit Minichmayr, Annette Paulmann, Christoph Schlingensief, Nicolas Stemann, Sandra Hüller, Susanne Kennedy, Lina Beckmann, Herbert Fritsch and Milo Rau.

The jury for the 2018 prize consists of Yvonne Büdenhölzer (director of the Theatertreffen), Shirin Sojitrawalla (cultural editor and member of the Theatertreffen-jury and Wolfgang Horn (3sat editor).