Award Ceremony

Alfred Kerr Acting Prize

Awarded by Fabian Hinrichs, juror
Awarded was Benny Claessens for his role in Falk Richter’s production of “Am Königsweg”

Alfred Kerr Acting Prize

Alfred Kerr Acting Prize. Winner Benny Claessens with juror Fabian Hinrichs

© Piero Chiussi

Past Dates

At the conclusion of the 2018 Theatertreffen, the Alfred Kerr Acting Prize will be awarded for the 24th time. This distinction, named after the famous Berlin theatre critic, honours an extraordinary achievement by a young actor in one of the productions selected for presentation at the Theatertreffen. The award is endowed with 5,000 Euro and funded by Alfred-Kerr-Stiftung, with the support of the Tagesspiegel newspaper, Schering-Stiftung and Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung.

This year’s juror is actor Fabian Hinrichs. The Kerr-Award comes full circle, since this is the first time that a laureate of the prize (2012) becomes a Kerr-juror.

On the occasion of the award ceremony, literary scholar Deborah Vietor-Engländer will analyse Kerr’s assessment of the art of acting in the early 20th century, and director and author Milo Rau will talk about his perspective on the transformation this art has undergone in the early 21st century.