Visiting : Rome

Orchestra e Coro dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia – Roma

Sir Antonio Pappano, conductor
Beethoven | Schönberg | Busoni

This concert has had to be cancelled. Instead, there will be a concert featuring Igor Levit on the same date.
Information on reimbursement of already purchased tickets and buying new tickets can be accessed on the ticket page.

Discover our new complete programme for 2020.

Ferruccio Busoni sits the sculptor Numa Patlagean model, 1914

Ferruccio Busoni sits the sculptor Numa Patlagean model, 1914

© Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preussischer Kulturbesitz, Musical estate F. Busoni, PI, 22

Past Dates

A premiere: This year, the orchestra and choir of the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome, an ensemble deeply steeped in tradition, will make their Musikfest Berlin-debut. Founded in 1908, the orchestra was intended to increase the esteem of the symphonic repertoire in Italy – a task that it has more than fulfilled ever since under the direction of many renowned conductors. Rooted in one of Europe’s oldest musical institutions, today it represents a successful synthesis of the traditional and the contemporary.

They will travel to Berlin with their Music Director Sir Antonio Pappano, who has significantly refined the orchestra’s sound culture, honed the profile of its repertoire and led it to internationally acknowledged top achievements. They will present a programme that tests the limits of dimensions in all respects: The concert will begin with Beethoven’s singular “Great Fugue” in a setting for string orchestra. This version expresses a tendency toward the orchestral already inherent in the original version, which was composed for a string quartet.

Another solitary in the concert landscape is Ferruccio Busoni’s monumental Concerto for Piano with Orchestra and Male Choir in C major. Igor Levit is the soloist in this performance of the work, which demands the highest virtuosity of a pianist. In his piano concerto with male choir, Ferruccio Busoni continues an experiment that Beethoven had begun with his Choral Fantasy. Or, in the words of Wolfgang Rihm: “The piano concerto is a symphony that is both a concerto and a vocal symphony. At its conclusion, it is joined by the sound of a choir – a kind of Faustus-symphony by Doctor Faustus.” In between Beethoven and Busoni, the music of Arnold Schönberg will resound – and nowhere else does it sound more sensuous and colourful than in his Five Pieces for Orchestra op. 16.

Concert Programme

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Great Fugue in B flat major op. 133 (1825)
in the version for string orchestra

Arnold Schönberg (1874 – 1951)
Five Orchestra Pieces op. 16 (1909, version from 1949)

Ferruccio Busoni (1866 – 1924)
Concert for Piano and Orchestra with Male Choir in C major op.39 (1904)

Concerto per un Pianoforte principale e diversi strumenti ad arco, a fiato, ed a percussione. Aggiuntovi un Coro finale per voci d‘uomini a sei parti. Le parole alemanne del poeta Oehlenschlaeger, danese.

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event