L’angelo della morte, Venezia 1951

L’angelo della morte, Venezia 1951

© Paolo Monti, Milano, Istituto di Fotografia / Paolo Monti

Visiting : Bamberg

Bamberger Symphoniker

Jakub Hrůša, conductor
Herrmann | Suk

Together with their Chief Conductor Jakub Hrůša, our guests from Bamberg will present a symphony named after Asrael, the angel of death, and composed by Josef Suk, an “as yet” not very well known composer between the late romantic era and modernity. Kirill Petrenko, Chief Conductor of Berliner Philharmoniker, has long considered Suk to be a great, significant composer and has included his “Summer’s Tale” into his concert programme for 17, 18 and 19 September corresponding with the concert by the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra.

19:10 work introduction

Corresponding with the performance of Josef Suk’s “Summer Tale” by Kirill Petrenko and the Berliner Philharmoniker on 17, 18 and 19 September, the guests from Bamberg and their Chief Conductor Jakub Hrůša will present Suk’s Asrael symphony. The symphony bears the name of the angel of death from Islamic-Persian mythology and was written to commemorate the death of Antonín Dvořák and his daughter Otylka, who was Suk’s wife – a “symphony of fate” in C minor, the key of Beethoven’s Fifth.

Arnulf Herrmann’s new work for orchestra “Tour de Trance”, only recently premiered in Munich, resembles a surreal trip. The first movement in this four-part cycle is a “manic episode” – with its freewheeling motivity, the composer created another reminiscence of Beethoven’s 5th Symphony.

Concert Programme

Arnulf Herrmann (*1968)
Tour de Trance
for orchestra and soparano (2020)
based on a text by Monika Rinck
Commissioned by musica viva of Bayerischer Rundfunk

Josef Suk (1874 – 1935)
Asrael Symphony in C minor op. 27 (1905/06)

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event