Berlin-based Orchestras

Berliner Philharmoniker II

Kirill Petrenko, conductor
Xenakis | Berg | Suk

This concert will take place; its programme has been modified and the seating capacity is reduced. As a result, already purchased tickets are no longer valid.
Information on reimbursement of already purchased tickets and buying new tickets can be accessed on the ticket page.

Discover our new complete programme for 2020.

Josef Suk

Josef Suk

© The History Collection / Alamy Stock Photo

A sound. A call. A fanfare. String movements start drifting out like wind noises. As the opening piece of his first programme at Musikfest Berlin with the Berlin Philharmoniker, Kirill Petrenko has chosen Iannis Xenakis’ “Empreintes” which unfolds the orchestra’s sound from a core. By way of Alban Berg’s violin concerto, a highly expressive internal drama, he finally turns to a composer whose work is still underestimated as a bridge leading from Dvořák and Mahler to 20th century thinking about sound: Josef Suk, Dvořák’s student and son-in-law. His “Summer’s Tale”, was more of a summer mystery in the eyes of critic Julius Korngold, who met modernism with benevolent scepticism. “Suk throws himself unreservedly into the arms of modern impressionism. We hear sections of gripping atmospheric force, and during the final adagio, ‘Night’, the music finds its way back home. What beautiful sounds Suk, always a master of instrumental colouring, elicits from his orchestra! In ‘Summer’s Tale’, the composer’s ‘ego’ finally strives towards ‘nature’.”

Concert Programme

Iannis Xenakis (1922 – 2001)
for orchestra (1975)

Alban Berg (1885 – 1935)
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra
“Dem Andenken eines Engels” (1935)

Josef Suk (1874 – 1935)
Symphonic Poem op. 29
“A Summer’s Tale” (1907 – 1909)

A Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation event in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin