TNIII0II0#III: Joanie Lemercier | Jan Kounen | Thomas Wilfred

Nebulae | Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey | Opus 79

Lift off into the universe of the stars with Joanie Lemercier’s audiovisual piece “Nebulae”, immerse yourself in unknown psychedelic visions with Jan Kounen’s “Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey” – or lean back to enjoy Thomas Wilfred’s northern lights-like symphony of colours.

Thomas Wilfred: Opus 79

Thomas Wilfred: Opus 79

© The Carol and Eugene Epstein Collection

  • 14 min / 13 min / 10 min

Past Dates

Joanie Lemercier: Nebulae

The audio-visual fulldome piece “Nebulae” offers a journey into the cosmos and through time: take off from a familiar terrestrial landscape, aim at the stars and beyond. Explore galaxies and constellations and witness several cosmic events from the past.

Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey

“Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey” is the attempt to transfer experiences based on the physical and hallucinatory effects of ayahuasca, a natural remedy used by the indigenous peoples of the Amazon region, into the medium of 360°-film. Director Jan Kounen explores the questions of whether an immersive technology can simulate psychedelic experiences resembling those made under the influence of ayahuasca and whether this media experience changes our sense of reality. After all, immersive technologies like the fulldome format place the audience in the midst of fictitious narrative spaces, ensuring that they not merely look at a dream, but rather seem to be inside it for a few moments.

Thomas Wilfred: Opus 79 “Multidimensional” (1932)

With his lumia instruments that created compositions from electrical, mechanical and reflective elements, the American light artist Thomas Wilfred (1889-1968) created a new art form at the crossroads between technology and modern art. The light paintings he composed – meditative, northern lights-like colour symphonies –, and which he presented quietly without musical accompaniment, earned him a place in the Museum of Modern Art, New York as part of the exhibition “15 Americans” in 1952 together with Jackson Pollock and Mark Rothko.

In collaboration with the Epstein Collection and Stiftung Planetarium Berlin, four of his works that were originally presented as screen and ceiling projections have been re-filmed and adapted for the first time for the largest visual space of our age, allowing them to be experienced in a new way. His symphonies will be presented in silence.

Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey
World premiere at the 2019 Tribeca Film Festival
Created by Jan Kounen
Produced by AtlasV, A_Bahn and Small studios
Distributed by Diversion Cinema