Concert Film / On Demand

Quatuor Bozzini

In these times of restricted travel due to Covid-19, a concert film produced exclusively with Quatuor Bozzini in Montreal gives MaerzMusik’s audience access to the world premiere of String Quartet No. 4 by the Swiss composer Jürg Frey. The film can be seen and heard through MaerzMusik on Demand.

View of the auditorium ceiling in the Haus der Berliner Festspiele before the renovation in 2010

View of the ceiling in the auditorium of the Haus der Berliner Festspiele before the renovations in 2010

© Berliner Festspiele, photo: Kordula Rüter

The Swiss composer Jürg Frey (born in 1953) is a master of calm, expansive sonic landscapes. With his ear for the elementary qualities of sound, his sensitivity to material and the precision of his composition, he creates works of great inner power and pervasive serenity. The world premiere of his new string quartet performed by the Canadian Quatuor Bozzini can now be enjoyed on MaerzMusik On Demand – in a concert film produced exclusively in Montreal that makes the premiere of this hour-long work accessible to a worldwide audience.


Jürg Frey
String Quartet No. 4 (2018–2020)
World premiere


Quatuor Bozzini
Clemens Merkel, violin
Alissa Cheung, violin
Stéphanie Bozzini, viola
Isabelle Bozzini, cello

John Klepko sound
Lucie Bazzo light
Robin Pineda Gould camera director