TNI Classics

David OReilly, Agnieszka Polska, Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez

A retrospective of selected films created in the years 2018 and 2019 as part of “The New Infinity”.

Agnieszka Polska: The Happiest Thought

The Happiest Thought

© Agnieszka Polska and Żak Branicka Gallery, Berlin

  • 75 min

Past Dates

David OReilly: Eye of the Dream

The artist and game designer David OReilly travels with us through the development of life leading into our modern world, beginning at the moment before the Big Bang. This realtime simulation is governed by an array of interconnected, multi-layered systems inspired by musical composition – creating an optical experience that oscillates between dramatic and meditative, abstract and familiar, chaotic and ordered. “Eye of the Dream” evolved from David OReilly’s award-winning work “Everything” and draws from a library of digital objects he created over a 15 year period.

Agnieszka Polska: The Happiest Thought

More than 250 million years ago, the largest known mass extinction in the Earth’s history occurred and up to 90 percent of the planet’s life was annihilated. “The Happiest Thought” is the first fulldome piece of visual artist Agnieszka Polska and revives the Earth’s destroyed biosphere in the most poetic of ways. Her point of departure is the “happiest thought” of the physicist Albert Einstein that inspired him to formulate his general theory of relativity in 1915. Einstein’s text is sung by the US-American performance artist Geo Wyeth and thus becomes part of a hypnotically enchanting séance.

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-Face

“Fake-objects” are items that may look realistic, but can in fact not exist in the physical world such as the Penrose triangle: Its three beams appear to be positioned at right angles to each other, and yet they are connected to form a triangle. For their first joint fulldome piece, sound artist Robert Lippok and digital artist Lucas Gutierrez developed fantastic objects of different dimensionalities as well as new sonic spaces.

David OReilly: Eye of the Dream (2018, 30 min)
Production. David OReilly
Music. Ben Lukas Boysen & Sebastian Plano
Programming. Damien Quartz & Ezra Hanson-White
Sound design. Eduardo Ortiz Frau
Narration: Alan Watts
Idea & curatorial consulting: Stephan Schwingeler

Agnieszka Polska: The Happiest Thought (2019, 21 min)
Animation: Agnieszka Polska, Nathan Gray
Voice Artist: Geo Wyeth
Sound Design: Agnieszka Polska, Igor Kłaczyński
Sound Recording: Ronald van der Spek
Sound Mixing: Igor Kłaczyński
Production assistant: Irma Blumstock
A coproduction of the Berliner Festspiele / Immersion / The New Infinity and Planetarium Hamburg

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-face (2019, 15 min)
Video: Lucas Gutierrez
Music: Robert Lippok
Cello: Elif Dimli, Anil Eraslan
Curatorial consulting: Natalie Keppler
A coproduction of the Berliner Festspiele / Immersion / The New Infinity and Planetarium Hamburg