Concert & binaural audio livestream
Éliane Radigue

Éliane Radigue: The Electronic Works 4

Adnos I (1974)

In her “Adnos” trilogy, the composer Éliane Radigue forms a continuously transforming sound texture, inspired by the idea of moving water. Under the sound direction of François J. Bonnet, “Adnos I” (1973–1974) finds its way into the starry dome of the Zeiss Planetarium.

Rotary knob for controlling the oscillator module of a synthesiser

“Éliane Radigue – Échos”. A film by Éleonore Huisse and François Bonnet, F 2021, film still

© Éleonore Huisse, François Bonnet

Past Dates

To celebrate the French music pioneer Éliane Radigue’s 90th birthday, MaerzMusik presents her entire electronic music oeuvre for the first time live. A series of seventeen concerts performed under the sound direction of François Bonnet, aka Kassel Jaeger, spreads across the entire festival. Set in the unique acousmatic environment of the Zeiss-Großplanetarium, this homage attempts to give full access to the enchanting depth of Radigue’s music for loudspeakers created between 1970 and 2000.

“Éliane Radigue was born on January 24th, 1932 in Paris, where she still lives and works today. From her Parisian childhood she will keep the memory of a secret initiation into music, mediated by a prudent piano teacher. Then she will continue with the harp, with singing and composition. But it is through the contact with ‘musique concrète‘, alongside Pierre Schaeffer and later Pierre Henry, that Radigue's music will find its genuine path.
Over more than 50 years there will be three distinct periods, each of them marking a rupture while evoking in its own way an inspired exploration of thresholds, of spaces opening up in intervals, and of a dialogue between listening experience and inner experience, personal history and sensible memory. The first period (1968–1971) is that of work on feedbacks and re-injections, an embryonic phase already signalling extreme preciseness as well as work on thresholds and threatened equilibriums. The second period that of maturity, and spanning thirty years (1971–2001), is characterised by a fruitful production of electronic compositions, indelibly linking her music to the unique beats of the ARP 2500 synthesizer. This period also initiates the elaboration of long forms with subtle variations that blossom and resonate between the story carried by the music and the test of time necessary for its unfolding. The third period, still ongoing, is that of her acoustic works created in close collaboration with musician-accomplices coming from all horizons, bringing an additional relational dimension to a music, which until then had been constructed solitarily. Throughout her life, Éliane Radigue has developed a candid, demanding and inspiring body of work which today influences a whole new generation of musicians.” (François Bonnet)

“From adage to adynamics, for all ados and adnos, this addendum:
Adage: slow exercises to improve the dancers' balance and the form of their movement. First part of a pas de deux.
Adné: any part that is connected or welded to another and appears to be part of it.
Ados: an earthen bank used to protect plantations from the north wind and expose them more directly to the sun's rays.
Addenda: that which is added to something to complete it.
Adynamia: the total absence of physical strength that accompanies a serious illness.
Adnos: moving stones in a stream bed does not affect the stream, but changes the fluid form.
Thus, a strong present sound energy transforms the course of fluid areas of resonance and generates developing sonic activity. Like the clock hand, it marks the gear mechanism of an open watch, integrated into its movement. In the conch formed by the course of the sounds, the ear filters, selects, favours, as would a gaze on the shimmering water. Listening alone is solicited, like an absent and double gaze, turned at the same time towards an externally proposed image, the reflection of which lives in reflection in the inner universe.” (Éliane Radigue)

Éliane Radigue
Adnos I(1974)
Music for loudspeakers / ARP 2500 synthesizer on magnetic tape, 71 min 28 sec

Produced at Éliane Radigue’s studio in Paris in 1973.
Premiered on 10 November 1974 at the Musée Galliéra, Festival d’Automne à Paris.

François J. Bonnet sound direction