Award Ceremony

Theatre-Award-Berlin by Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung

Awarded to Amelie Deuflhard

Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung will award the 2022 Theatre-Award-Berlin to the theatre producer and director of Kampnagel Hamburg Amelie Deuflhard for her extraordinary services to the German-language theatre.

Amelie Deuflhard

Amelie Deuflhard

© Marcelo Hernandez

  • 1 h 40 min, no interval
  • In German

Past Dates

The jury reasons:
“Amelie Deuflhard has been the artistic director of Kampnagel Hamburg, Europe’s largest production centre for the independent performing arts, since 2007. In her work, the ‘European Cultural Manager of the Year‘ 2018 works tirelessly for their professionalisation, better financing and aesthetic self-ignition. Anyone who is interested in innovative theatre today or who is looking for new paths in the cultural sector cannot avoid the groups and artists she has discovered and promoted - and to whom she has always remained loyal. Her work has nothing to do with events, but a lot to do with serious debate. And with a political stance.
Artists may not be able to save the world, but Deuflhard is convinced that they are ‘people who reflect critically on the world‘ – and should show their colours. With EcoFavela Lampedusa Nord, she initiated a living and action space for refugees in 2014 and stuck to it even when the public prosecutor’s office investigated Deuflhard for ‘aiding and abetting the violation of the right of residence for foreigners‘. The project has found its extension at Kampnagel in the award-winning meeting place Migrantpolitan.
Amelie Deuflhard is a facilitator and mediator par excellence – always on the lookout for current topics, new artists and ideas, new experiences of space, time and the world. The Theatre-Award-Berlin is a lifetime achievement award, but Amelie Deuflhard still has many plans. She is particularly looking forward to accompanying the planned general renovation of Kampnagel: ‘The most innovative art site of the 21st century is to be created here, opening up new dimensions of international and transdisciplinary work and setting an example worldwide.”

The decision regarding this award was made by a jury consisting of the artistic director of Theater Bremen Prof Michael Börgerding, the theatre critic Sabine Leucht, the author, curator and former artistic director of Berliner Festspiele Dr Thomas Oberender, and with Theatertreffen’s director Yvonne Büdenhölzer attending with an advisory vote.

The Theatre-Award-Berlin was first awarded in 1988 on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the Berlin Theatertreffen. Since then, the award ceremony has taken place annually as part of the festival at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele. The Theatre-Award-Berlin is endowed with a sum of 20,000 Euro and will be awarded by Dr Klaus Lederer, Mayor of Berlin, Senator for Culture and Europe and member of the board of Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung.


Adrienne Goehler and Prof Dr Nikolaus Müller-Schöll Laudatory speeches
Amelie Deuflhard Artistic director Kampnagel Hamburg
Dr Klaus Lederer Mayor of Berlin, Senator for Culture and Europe and member of the board of Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung

A Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung event, funded by the Ilse und Dr Horst Rusch-Stiftung.