TT Context

Dynamic Manifest

A talk about reorganising the theatre apparatus during ongoing operations

What structures and conditions does a contemporary theatre company need in order to be able to negotiate the pressing questions of the present? The multi-voiced group Neues Theater (WT) presents its reflections.

Close-up of leaves on a purple background


  • 1 h 30 min, no interval
  • In German

Past Dates

Available as  audio record in the Media Library

How can an apparatus be reorganised while its operations are ongoing? How does this reorganisation agree with contracts bound by collective bargaining laws, with habitual hierarchies, an aversion to co-determination and the pressure to produce? How can we consider anti-racism, queer feminism, climate equality and anti-capitalism in the spirit of solidarity; how can we truly realise material equality and radically democratic participation? Does the answer to these questions lie in an anti-hierarchical theatre that operates under principles of self-organisation and organically coalesces with the urban society?

The multi-voiced Gruppe Neues Theater (Group New Theatre) (Working Title) has been discussing these issues and more for some time, both internally and in conversation with experts and activists. In the context of Theatertreffen, the group will present initial results in the form of their “dynamic manifest” and enter into a discussion with invited guests and the audience.


Heinrich Horwitz Actor, choreographer, director
Mateja Meded Actor
Luise Meier Author, philosopher
Tina Turnheim Director, theatre scholar, author
Sarah Waterfeld Author

Annett Hardegen Moderation

and video statements by

Darin Abdelaziz Student from Ukraine
Ivo Garbe ver.di, Berliner Krankenhausbewegung
Zeynep Karlıdağ Gorillaz Workers Collective
Charlotte Koppenhöfer Organisational developer, director
Nicole Lindner & Steffen Doebert Parliament for the Homeless, in the course of formation
Kevin Rittberger Author, director
Fetsum Sebhat Founder PxP Embassy

Neues Theater (WT) includes: Susanne Hentschel, Heinrich Horwitz, Thomas Köck, Wolfram Lotz, Mateja Meded, Luise Meier, Lara-Sophie Milagro, Kevin Rittberger, Sylvana Seddig, Flo Thamer, Tina Turnheim, Staub zu Glitzer