Staatskapelle Berlin – Daniel Barenboim

Past Dates

Powerful virtuosity is here set in opposition to evocative, multifaceted spirituality. Richard Strauss’ confident festival of sound contrasts with Pierre Boulez’s sensitive analytically structured work. This tension develops between Liszt’s first piano concerto and Brahms’s last symphony.

Concert Programme

Change of Programme

Richard Strauss
Don Juan op. 20 (1889)

Pierre Boulez
Notations (1945/1978/1997) for orchestra
I. Modéré Fantasque
III. Très modéré
IV. Rhythmique
VII. Hiératique
II. Très vif. Strident

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Concerto No. 23 A major KV 488 (1786)

Johannes Brahms
Symphony No. 4 in E minor op. 98 (1886)

An event of the Staatskapelle Berlin as a part of the Musikfest Berlin