Visiting Orchestras

The Cleveland Orchestra – Franz Welser-Möst

Past Dates

19:00 Introduction

The Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho, who lives in Paris, wrote her orchestral triptych “Orion” specifically for The Cleveland Orchestra. They have performed it on a number of occasions to great critical acclaim. The combination of “Orion” with Claude Debussy’s “La Mer” is well chosen. The French composer believed that nature was the best teacher that artists could have. This symphonic poem is creative proof of his theory.

Concert Programme

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Symphony No. 38 in D major KV 504 “Prague” (1786)

Kaija Saariaho
Orion (2002)

Claude Debussy
La Mer
Three Symphonic Sketches (1903/05)