Visiting Orchestra

Hungarian National Philharmonic – Zoltán Kocsis

Past Dates

19:00 introduction

The programme allows us to feel as if we were witnessing a history of music, based on György Kurtág’s sense of sound and the concentration in his work, but according to the artist’s labyrinthine fantasy rather than in any systematic fashion. We hear the expressive sound architecture of early choral music, Bartók’s vitality, and Webern’s extremely dense musical approach.

Concert Programme

György Kurtág
Omaggio a Nono op. 16 (1979)

Heinrich Schütz
Psalms SWV 24, 25, 37 (1619)

György Kurtág
Eight Choruses op. 23 (1981–84)

Béla Bartók
Dances of Transylvania (1931)

Anton Webern
Five Movements for String Orchestra (1909)
(Version of the String Quartet op. 5)

Béla Bartók
Romanian Folk Dances (1917)

András Szöllösy
Concert for Strings No. 3 (1968)

Béla Bartók
Divertimento (1939)


SWR Vokalensemble Stuttgart
Marcus Creed conductor

Ungarisches Nationalphilharmonie
Zoltán Kocsis conductor