Visiting Orchestras

Hungarian National Philharmonic – Zoltán Kocsis

Past Dates

This concert marks stages in György Kurtág’s creative development away from his roots. Kurtág’s “Grabstein für Stefan” was written as a memorial to the husband of his psychologist Marianne Stein. Both works, whose titles and opus numbers allude to Beethoven, express an inner conflict between freedom and tradition.

Concert Programme

György Kurtág
Gravestone for Stephan op. 15c (1979/89)
…quasi una fantasia… op. 27,1 (1987/88)
Double Concerto op. 27,2 (1990)

Béla Bartók
Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta (1936)


Miklós Perényi violoncello
Jean Efflam Bavouzet piano

Ungarisches Nationalphilharmonie
Zoltán Kocsis conductor