Opening Concert

Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra

Opening Concert

Anne-Sophie Mutter

Anne-Sophie Mutter

© Harald Hoffmann / Deutsche Grammophon

Past Dates

19:00 work introduction

The concert will be streamed live on and is available for three weeks. The orchestra works will remain in the archive of ARTE Live Web and on the  website of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra for six months.

The first time I heard her play “Łańcuch II” (“Chain II”) it was a unique and unforgettable experience for me. I had never dared to dream of such a sound and that kind of interpretation of my violin compositions. The memory of her playing has constantly accompanied my thoughts surrounding later violin compositions. For that I am endlessly grateful to her.
Witold Lutosławski on Anne-Sophie Mutter

It is over a quarter of a century ago that Anne-Sophie Mutter premiered Witold Lutosławski’s “Łańcuch II” (“Chain II”). Already then it seemed as if a new chapter in the history of concert music had been opened at a single stroke. And the unbroken force of fascination that Lutosławski’s composition has had on interpreters as well as audiences since then has proven this assumption correct.

That Anne-Sophie Mutter, as the first and without a doubt the most well-versed interpreter of this composition, will perform at Musikfest Berlin 2013 is one of the highlights of a programme that, along with other focal points, is dedicated to Lutosławski’s 100th birthday. The Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and conductor Manfred Honeck will accompany this exceptional violinist in this concert. Also to be heard are an early string suite by Leoš Janáček and Richard Strauss' autobiographical tone poem “A Hero’s Life”.

Leoš Janáček [1854-1928]
Suite for String Orchestra [1877]

Witold Lutosławski [1913-1994]
Chain II
Dialogue for violin and orchestra
dedicated to Paul Sacher [1985]

Richard Strauss [1864-1949]
Ein Heldenleben (A Hero’s Life)
Symphonic poem for large orchestra op. 40 [1886-98]