Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

© Marco Borggreve / Deutsche Grammophon

Past Dates

19:00 work introduction

French pianist Pierre-Laurent Aimard is as acclaimed for his exquisite boundary-transcending repertoire as he is for his carefully compiled concert programmes. For his performance at this year’s Musikfest Berlin he has come up with something very special: a programme that encompasses not only a cross-section of highlights spanning two hundred years of music history but little by little also works its way forward from intimate chamber music to the representative genre of the piano concerto. The first piece is a trio that Béla Bartók wrote for Hungarian violinist Joszef Szigeti and American clarinettist Benny Goodman and which the composer also premiered with these two exceptional artists in 1940. Next on the programme is Leoš Janáček’s “Concertino” for piano and chamber ensemble, which he composed in 1925, as well as György Ligeti’s “Chamber Concerto” for 13 instrumentalists, which was premiered at the Berliner Festwochen in 1970. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Piano Concerto in G major, KV 453 is the final flourish of a concert which Pierre-Laurent Aimard realises both as a soloist and conductor with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe. A sophisticated and varied concert programme for connoisseurs and those with aspirations to become one.

Béla Bartók [1881-1945]
for violin, clarinet and piano [1938]

Leoš Janáček [1854-1928]
for piano, two violins, viola, clarinet and bassoon [1925]

György Ligeti [1923-2006]
Chamber Concerto
for 13 instrumentalists [1969/70]

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart [1756-1791]
Concerto for piano and orchestra in in G major KV 453 [1784]

Pierre-Laurent Aimard piano / conductor
Lorenza Borrani violin / concertmaster
Romain Guyot clarinet

Chamber Orchestra of Europe