RIAS Kammerchor / Ensemble musikFabrik

Marches, Rhymes, Weddings

RIAS Kammerchor

RIAS Kammerchor

© Matthias Heyde

Past Dates

19:00 work introduction

Some processes are unpredictable; yet experimental music has become very predictable indeed. I am not interested in the old contrast between avant-garde and retreat. I am a classic example of someone who has done things that were not mainstream during avant-garde times. I have always resisted following style standards. Works that are written without anarchy, without violations against entrenched stylistic rules, are more or less unenjoyable.
Mauricio Kagel

Mauricio Kagel was one of the most unconventional compository phenomena of the 20th century: an original thinker whose complex musical oeuvre resisted any pigeonholing whatsoever. With his often irresistible humour Kagel, who died five years ago, pioneered a fascinatingly individual path through the music of the Modern period. Under the theme of “Marches, Rhymes, Weddings”, this concert erects several striking signposts, with compositions by two other individualists of the Modern period in addition to selected works by Kagel: cheeky “Children’s Rhymes” by Leoš Janáček and Stravinsky’s ballet music “Les Noces”, which newly interprets Russian folk music in a radical way.

In addition to vocals and percussion, Stravinsky also wanted to employ machines, mechanical pianos, pianolas: the sound was to be “completely homogenous, completely impersonal and completely mechanical”. He composed the first two scenes with this ensemble in mind but had to change his plans on account of the Pleyel instruments’ insufficient mechanics and objections from Sergej Diaghilew. Dutch composer Theo Verbey completed Stravinsky’s already advanced plans in 2007. At Musikfest Berlin, this version of “Les Noces” for soloists, choir, harmonium, percussion and live pianola will be presented to the public for the first time, with James Wood conducting RIAS Kammerchor and Ensemble musikFabrik.

Leoš Janáček [1854-1928]
Ríkadla (Nursery rhymes)
for chamber choir and 10 instruments [1926]
© 1929, 1956 by Universal Edition A.G. Wien / UE 32920

Mauricio Kagel [1931-2008]
Marches No. 1, 2 and 5
from: 10 Marches to Miss the Victory
for wind and percussion [1978/79]
© C.F. PETERS Frankfurt Leipzig London New York

No. 3 Resurrexit Dominus
from: Rrrrrrr… 7 pieces for mixed choir and piano [1981/82]

Marches No. 7 and 8
from: 10 Marches to Miss the Victory

No. 5 Rex tremendae
from: Rrrrrrr… 7 pieces

Marches No. 8 and 4
from: 10 Marches to Miss the Victory

Mauricio Kagel
Verborgene Reime [2006/07]
for choir and percussion

Igor Stravinsky [1882-1971]
Les Noces
1919 version for two soloists, choir, pianola, 2 cymbaloms, harmonium and percussion
completed by Theo Verbey [2007]
First presentation of the Verbey version with live pianola

A Berliner Festspiele event
in cooperation with the RIAS Kammerchor