Berlin-based Orchestras

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin / Marek Janowski

Past Dates

Contradictions of temperament and mood define the programme of the Rundfunk-Sinfonie-Orchester Berlin. Ferruccio Busoni’s Violin Concerto arose from the civic concert tradition and was composed with such an audience in mind. It is a glittering piece displaying both freshness and youthful abandon which is filled with intensity and light and studded with witty references to great works. Jean Sibelius’s music finds inspiration in completely different sources. His Symphony No. 4, inspired by Finland’s mountainous regions, unfolds into a dark, glowing landscape of sound which is both aesthetically austere and full of majestic force. The newly-won rigour found in the tones and the contours of the seldom performed music from the ballet Khamma illustrates the influence of the young Stravinsky on Debussy’s later works. With the score to Khamma, Debussy composed a piece of music full of internal tension and dramatic plasticity which belongs to the greatest achievements of the last ten years of his life. Marek Janowski, who together with the RSB has been a guest of the musikfest berlin from the very beginning, demonstrates his affinity for unusual, seldom-heard works. Frank Peter-Zimmermann, one of the most eminent violin virtuosos of the younger generation, will perform at his side.

Concert Programme

Claude Debussy [1862-1918]
Khamma – Légende dansée [1911/12]

Ferruccio Busoni [1866-1924]
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra op. 35a in D major [1896-97]

Jean Sibelius [1865-1957]
Symphony No. 4 in A minor op. 63 [1911]

An event of the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin in cooperation with the Berliner Festspiele