Fabian Müller Piano Recital

Berlin Debut Fabian Müller

Ferruccio Busoni International Piano Competition
Special Prize for the Interpretation of Contemporary Piano Music 2013

Fabian Müller

Fabian Müller

© Promo

Past Dates

The Ferruccio Busoni International Piano Competition pays tribute to the mastermind and advocate of the one-time avant-garde, the Berliner-by-choice Ferruccio Busoni, by supporting young piano talent. Together with the Ensemble Modern and as part of the 59th edition of this competition, MaerzMusik has awarded a special prize for the most convincing interpretation of “shadow”, a piano composition by Rebecca Saunders. This special prize consisted of a debut concert that will now take place within the framework of MaerzMusik 2014. The prize went to Cologne-based pianist Fabian Müller, who was also awarded a fourth main prize, the special audience prize and a prize for the interpretation of “Sonatina seconda” by Ferruccio Busoni.

Fabian Müller thrills the audience with the clarity and precision of his playing, and refined and highly musical interpretations that go beyond impressive dexterity to provide unique acoustic experiences. In his debut concert, the pianist presents compositions by György Ligeti, György Kurtág, Ernstalbrecht Stiebler and Mark Andre in addition to “shadow”, the commissioned work by Rebecca Saunders and the “Sonatina seconda” by Ferruccio Busoni.

Ferruccio Busoni
Sonatina seconda (1912)

Ernstalbrecht Stiebler
Quart solo (1998)

Béla Bartók
Out of Doors
Five pieces for piano Sz 81 (1926)

Mark Andre
iv11b (2011)

György Kurtág
Szálkák – Splitter op. 6d (1978)

Rebecca Saunders
shadow study for piano solo (2013)

György Ligeti
L’escalier du diable n°13 (1993)
from: Études pour piano (deuxième livre)

In collaboration with Fondazione Concorso Pianistico Internazionale Ferruccio Busoni and Ensemble Modern. In cooperation with Radialsystem V