Ensemblekollektiv Berlin


Ensemblekollektiv Berlin

Ensemblekollektiv Berlin

© Andy Rumball

Past Dates

The Ensemblekollektiv Berlin will present itself to the public for the first time at MaerzMusik under the direction of conductors Titus Engel, Enno Poppe and Peter Rundel. Four internationally active Berlin ensembles cooperate as a fused sound entity: Ensemble Adapter, Sonar-Quartett, Ensemble Apparat and ensemble mosaik. This special constellation based on chamber music structures is not just a novelty for the Berlin music scene. The cooperating ensembles are characterized by their longstanding experience, high-quality interpretations and clear profiles. By complementing one another in their collaboration, these ensembles form a collective offering new musical possibilities.

In three programmes, the new collective will make its mark in 2014 and 2015 with a selected repertoire and works that capture the formation’s specific composition. Composer Hanna Eimermacher was, among others, commissioned by the Ensemblekollektiv to write a new work which – in addition to Sergej Newski, Clara Iannotta, Samir Odeh-Tamimi and Ondřej Adámek – will have its world premiere at MaerzMusik under Titus Engel. All composers are connected to Berlin in a special way and currently contribute to the musical diversity of the city. Musician, actor and speaker Jakob Diehl and Brazilian artist Rodrigo Ferreira are special guests at this concert.

Hanna Eimermacher
Überall ist Wunderland for 23 musicians (2013) WP

Ondřej Adámek
Karakuri Poupée Mécanique for voice and ensemble (2011)

Clara Iannotta
Clangs for cello and 15 players (2012) GP

Sergej Newski
Fluss for speaker and ensemble (2003/2005)

Samir Odeh-Tamimi
Cihangir for ensemble (2008)

Titus Engel, conductor
Rodrigo Ferreira, voice
Jakob Diehl, speaker

Ensemblekollektiv Berlin:
Kristjana Helgadóttir (Ensemble Adapter) / Bettina Junge (ensemble mosaik), flute
Simon Strasser (ensemble mosaik), oboe
Ingólfur Vilhjálmsson (Ensemble Adapter) / Christian Vogel (ensemble mosaik), clarinet
Martin Losert (ensemble mosaik), saxophone
Heidi Mockert (Gast), bassoon
Samuel Stoll (Ensemble Apparat), horn
Nathan Plante (Ensemble Apparat) / Matthew Conley (Ensemble Apparat), trumpet
Fabian Schmidt (Ensemble Apparat), trombone
Max Murray (Ensemble Apparat), tuba
Gunnhildur Einarsdóttir (Ensemble Adapter), harp
Matthias Engler (Ensemble Adapter) / Jürgen Grözinger, Adam Weisman (guests), percussion
Ernst Surberg (ensemble mosaik) / Elmar Schrammel (Ensemble Adapter), piano/keyboard
Christine Paté (guest), accordion
Wojciech Garbowski (Sonar Quartett) / Chatschatur Kanajan (ensemble mosaik) / Susanne Zapf (Sonar Quartett), violin
Karen Lorenz (ensemble mosaik) / Nikolaus Schlierf (Sonar Quartett) / Cosima Gerhardt (Sonar Quartett) / Mathis Mayr (ensemble mosaik), cello
Matthias Bauer (guest), double bass

A production of Ensemblekollektiv Berlin in collaboration with Berliner Festspiele / MaerzMusik and Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz. With the support of Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD. Funded by the Capital Culture Fund