Visiting orchestras

The Cleveland Orchestra

Cleveland: Portrait Jörg Widmann

Franz Welser-Möst

Franz Welser-Möst

© Roger Mastroianni

Past Dates

19:00 work introduction

Born in 1973, clarinettist and composer Jörg Widmann is without a doubt one of the most important musical personalities of our time. Following performance studies at the Hochschule für Musik in his hometown of Munich and the New York Julliard School of Music, he very early on earned a reputation as one of the most diverse and virtuoso clarinettists today. But, as a student of Hans Werner Henze and Wolfgang Rihm among others, Widmann also conquered the international music industry in no time at all as a composer – with chamber music works, orchestral compositions and two operas and multiple music theatre works. The recipient of several renowned prizes, the musician was composer-in-residence at the Cleveland Orchestra from 2009-2011 – a fruitful time of artistic collaboration to which the Cleveland Orchestra, conducted by its artistic director Franz Welser-Möst, once again tips its hat in this portrait concert. On the programme are three symphonic works by Widmann as well as a work the composer wrote during his residency in Cleveland: “Flûte en suite” for flute and orchestra groups, which the Cleveland Orchestra and its solo flautist Joshua Smith premiered under Franz Welser-Möst in 2011.

Jörg Widmann [*1973]

Lied for orchestra [2003/09]

Flûte en suite
for flute and orchestra groups [2011]

Con brio
Concerto overture for orchestra
Reduced version [2008/13]

Teufel Amor
Symphonic hymn based on Schiller [2009/11]

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event