Brahms / Schumann / Berlin-based orchestras

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

Tugan Sokhiev

Tugan Sokhiev

© Patrice Nin

Past Dates

18:55 work introduction

At the end of his life, Robert Schumann apparently had hallucinations which provided him with musical inspiration. This, at least, is what Clara Schumann reported in her diaries. According to them, Schumann noted a theme in the night from the 17th to the 18th February 1854 that “the ghosts of Schubert and Mendelssohn had sung to him, and about which he composed variations that were, for me, equally stirring and poignant.” Aribert Reimann integrated the topic of these ‘Geistervariationen’ (Ghost Variations) in 1988 in three of his ‘Sieben Fragmente für Orchester’ (Seven Fragments for Orchestra), which were dedicated to “Robert Schumann in Memoriam” – subtle musical meditations on the person and music by the Romanticist so admired by Reimann. Schumann himself is represented with two only rarely heard contributions to the concert work genre in this Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin concert under chief conductor Tugan Sokhiev: the soloist is Paris-born pianist Jean-Frédéric Neuburger, who was born in 1986. In the second part of the programme, Peter I. Tchaikovsky’s Orchestral Suite Op. 55 is a work that appears to be a “secret symphony” by the composer in terms of its formal structure, its orchestration and temporal expansiveness and its musical wealth. Following the premiere of the work in St. Petersburg, Tchaikovsky wrote in a letter to his patron Nadeschda von Meck: “I was able to notice that the entire audience was enraptured und thankful to me. Such moments are the most beautiful in the life of an artist. This is what makes living and working worthwhile.”

Aribert Reimann [*1936]
Seven Fragments for Orchestra
In memoriam Robert Schumann [1988]

Robert Schumann [1810-1856]
Introduction and Allegro for piano and orchestra in D minor op. 134 [1853]

Robert Schumann
Introduction and Allegro Appassionato for piano and orchestra in G major op. 92 [1849]

Pyotr Tchaikovsky [1840-1893]
Suite No. 3 in G major for orchestra op. 55 [1884]

A Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin event
in cooperation with the Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin