Zement. front: Sebastian Blomberg, back left: Lukas Turtur, back right: Genija Rykova and chorus

© Armin Smailovic

The 10 Selected Productions


By Heiner Müller
Residenztheater, Munich

Premiere 5 May 2013

  • 3h 15, one interval
  • With English surtitles

Past Dates

3 May, 17:00 Upper Foyer
Introduction with Andrea Koschwitz

Public discussion 3 May 2014, following the performance
Haus der Berliner Festspiele, Bar
with the ensemble and Peter Laudenbach (jury)
Moderation Christine Wahl

On Munich’s posh Maximilianstraße, of all places (or maybe this is just the place for it?), Gotscheff, unflinching and desperate, tells us once again about revolution and about how hard it is to carry out, and even harder to sustain and justify, to learn from. In the end, there can be only failure – or maybe just a spark of hope that not every sacrifice has been in vain. “Old-fashioned” in the best sense of the word, uncompromising in its archaic imagery and painfully clear without any scenic frippery, Gotscheff tells us this story, searching for the visions of the future in the ashes of the past. A utopian dream (and certainly not just the old Russian version) is carried to its grave in a threateningly grey non-space, by extraordinary actors (above all Valery Cheplanova, Bibiana Belgau, Sebastian Blomberg), and at the same time, the dream of betterment and the eternal necessity of changes are invoked. Dimiter Gotscheff’s final production premiered six months before his death.


Directed by Dimiter Gotscheff
Scenography Ezio Toffolutti
Music Sandy Lopičić
Lighting design Gerrit Jurda
Dramaturgy Andrea Koschwitz

Njurka Valery Tscheplanowa
Gleb Shumalov Sebastian Blomberg
Dascha Shumalova Bibiana Beglau
Badjin Aurel Manthei
Sergei Ivagin Lukas Turtur
Polia Mechova Genija Rykova
Kleist Paul Wolff-Plottegg
Shibis Götz Argus
Makar, Dmitri Ivagin Simon Werdelis

Chorus Students of the Otto-Falckenberg-Schule and the Theaterakademie August Everding:
Lena Eikenbusch, Jonas Grundner-Culemann, Thomas Hauser, Simon Heinle, Ines Hollinger, Lukas Hupfeld, Johanna Küsters, Klara Pfeiffer, Philipp Reinhardt, Anna Sophie Schindler