Visiting Ensemble

musikFabrik / Emilio Pomàrico

Past Dates

Those who work at the Kölner musikFabrik, are highly qualified and capable equally as soloists and as ensemble players. In the 18 years of its existence, the ensemble has, in close collaboration with composers, given world premieres of many new works, realised inter-disciplinary projects and, in its programme, cultivated an invigorating confrontation of contrasting works. Stockhausens HOFFNUNG is part of his work KLANG, a cycle of 24 pieces that should consist of music from each hour of the course of the day. HOFFNUNG represents the ninth hour of the day. Wolfgang Rihm’s Concerto »Séraphin« deals with texts by the French poet and dramatist Antonin Artaud – the aesthete of the “raging order” – who again and again has challenged the musician Wolfgang Rihm to new works.

Concert Programme

Karlheinz Stockhausen [1928-2007]
HOFFNUNG [2007] for violoncello, viola und violin
9. Stunde aus KLANG, Die 24 Stunden des Tages

Helmut Lachenmann [*1935]
Mouvement (- vor der Erstarrung) [1983/84]
for chamber ensemble

Wolfgang Rihm [*1952]
Concerto »Séraphin« [2008] for large ensemble
Commissioned work of musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele
World premiere