Berlin-based Orchestras

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin / Marek Janowski

Past Dates

Marek Janowski distributes his artistic commitment between Germany and France. He also rehearses his German orchestras (since 2002, the RSB) in French repertoire and has a special interest in musical interrelations. Messiaen composed Un Sourire as an homage to Mozart and dedicated it to the conductor. With the sophisticated Chronochromie – a great metamorphosis of sound colour and progressions of time – he responds to Wagner’s Parsifal-motto: »Here time becomes space.« Ravel’s works pay tribute to the pianist Paul Wittgenstein in Vienna – who after a war wound was only able to play with his left hand – and to Franz Schubert, the sentimental and rebellious Romantic from Vienna.

Concert Programme

Olivier Messiaen [1908–1992]
Un Sourire [1989]

Olivier Messiaen
Chronochromie [1959/60]
for large orchestra

Maurice Ravel [1875–1937]
Concerto for piano and orchestra in D major
»for the left hand« [1929/30]

Maurice Ravel
Valses nobles et sentimentales [1911/12]
for orchestra


Boris Berezovsky piano

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Marek Janowski conductor

An event of the RSB in cooperation with the musikfest berlin | Berliner Festspiele