Tansy Davies

Borne out of a fascination with nature and shamanism and grinding rhythmic energy, the music of Tansy Davies has been described as both “sleek, hot, earthy” and “transparent, brazenly beautiful”. Her music is championed by ensembles including New York Philharmonic, Ensemble Intercontemporain, and Tokyo Symphony Orchestra and at festivals including Ultima, Présences, Donuaueschinger Musiktage and Warsaw Autumn. “Between Worlds”, an operatic response to 9/11 directed by Deborah Warner, was premiered by English National Opera in 2015, and in 2018 her chamber opera “Cave” was premiered with Mark Padmore, Elaine Mitchener, and London Sinfonietta. Davies has taught composition at both the Royal Academy of Music, London, where she is an Honorary Research Fellow, and at the Bloomington School of Music, Indiana. Her last realised projects include “Forest”, a concerto for four horns premiered by the Philharmonia Orchestra under Esa-Pekka Salonen in 2016, “Nightingales: Ultra-Deep Field” for Arditti Quartet, “Monolith: I Extend My Arms”, for the strings of Britten Sinfonia, and a residency at Concertgebouw Amsterdam culminating in the ensemble piece “Soul Canoe”. In 2022 Orkest De Ereprijs and Konstantyn Napolov premiered “Stone Codes” for percussion and ensemble.


As of December 2022

Tansy Davies

© Rikard Österlund

Past Events