M.O. Abott

M.O. Abbott is a Berlin-based composer and trombonist. His creative foci include computer assisted algorithmic composition, microtonality, just intonation, electroacoustic composition, and new music performance. M.O.'s music has been conducted by Petr Kotik and Stephen Andrew Taylor, and performed by ensembles such as Harmonic Space Orchestra, loadbang, and Illinois Modern Ensemble, and by interpreters such as Caleb Burhans, Melody Chua, Martha Cluver, Elizabeth Gartman, Nathan Mandel, Kevin McFarland, Tomoko Ono, Victor Pons, and Lucas Marshall Smith. M.O.'s work has recently been heard at festivals and conferences including Harmonic Space 2020: James Tenney, Ostrava Days, ICMC, and Diffrazioni. With pianist Whitney Ashe, M.O. was awarded the 19th Annual 21st Century Piano Commission. He has also been recognized with a Presser Graduate Music Award. As trombonist M.O. has appeared with myriad groups including Harmonic Space Orchestra, Zinc & Copper, Ostravská banda, Ostrava New Orchestra, Illinois Modern Ensemble, Sinfonia da Camera, Eastman Musica Nova and Ossia, and Eastman Trombone Choir.

As of January 2022

Past Events