70 Years of Berliner Festspiele

Breaking News, Talking Heads and Arts

To mark our 70th birthday, the daily changing cinema programme consisting of 23 short and full-length films with a total duration of over 34 hours looks back on extraordinary moments in the history of the Berliner Festspiele and its predecessor, the Berliner Festwochen. Developed from a film project that has been running for over a year, the programme combines complete documentary recordings of concerts, performances, actions, reportage and conversations, with newly produced collages of archive film material as well as standalone artistic works and feature films.

Curated by Thilo Fischer

An empty cinema hall. On the screen, a picture of a male read wearing gold-coloured, patterned clothes and playing the saxophone.

Cinema 70 Years of Berliner Festspiele with Fela Anikulapo Kuti and Africa 70, Berliner Jazztage 1978. Filmstill. The Sun Machine Is Coming Down

© Berliner Festspiele / Eike Walkenhorst

Cinema Berliner Festspiele 70

The Sun Machine Is Coming Down

To the complete programme

Sunday, 17 October 2021

Saturday, 16 October 2021

Friday, 15 October 2021

Thursday, 14 October 2021

Wednesday, 13 October 2021

Tuesday, 12 October 2021

Sunday, 10 October 2021

Saturday, 9 October 2021

Friday, 8 October 2021

Thursday, 7 October 2021