Grupo Oito: Bodies Object(s) Borders & Corners

Gropius Bau Giving Space: Selected project 2020/21

Where do we dissolve our boundaries and where do they keep us apart? How do we negotiate responsibility and privilege in a (post)pandemic society – and what does this do to our understanding of public and private space? How can the common grow out of our differences and despite of our physical distance? These are some of the questions the educational project by Grupo Oito deals with.

Photo: Laura Fiorio

Grupo Oito is an intercultural dance collective founded in 2006 by the choreographer Ricardo de Paula in Berlin. Through movement, Grupo Oito explores the body as a political microcosmos and looks for physical potentials of transformation. At the Gropius Bau, Grupo Oito creates encounters between people, objects, and space. In doing so, Grupo Oito examines the stories and social structures that arise through these encounters. The encounters give rise to an assemblage that makes the Gropius Bau a common space and an experiment in social practice: How can a public space become a playground for civil action? How can physical places become ambiguous spaces of encounter and negotiation of differences?

ALMOST THERE

Virtual education platform

During the closure of the house, Grupo Oito created the virtual platform ALMOST THERE. It follows the physical traces that the dance collective left behind at the Gropius Bau. ALMOST THERE is an archive of what was created in September and October 2020. It is also a space for the ideas that could no longer be materialised.

To the platform

Photo: Laura Fiorio

Events

Saturday, 4 September 2021

Friday, 3 September 2021

Thursday, 2 September 2021

Sunday, 27 June 2021

Friday, 25 June 2021

Tuesday, 25 May 2021

Sunday, 7 March 2021

Friday, 5 March 2021

Thursday, 5 November 2020

Sunday, 4 October 2020