Die Schutzbefohlenen

© Piero Chiussi

The 10 Selected Productions

Each year, ten remarkable productions are selected by an independent jury of critics from among around 400 shows within the German-language region and the viewing period.

Each May, they are presented at Haus der Berliner Festspiele and other venues throughout the city, depending on the individual productions’ staging requirements. Ever since the Theatertreffen’s foundation – when it was still known as “Berliner Theaterwettbewerb (Berlin Theatre Competition)” – this selection of 10 productions has been the festival’s core. An invitation to the Theatertreffen brings national recognition to the respective production teams – and often a boost to their careers.


The Theatertreffen-jury consists of seven theatre critics and selects the 10 productions to be invited. These honorary jurors are usually serving three years in succession. The jury is appointed by the head of the Theatertreffen and the director of the Berliner Festspiele.

Selection period Theatertreffen 2020

The selection period for the festival edition 2020 has started. Productions that have their premiere between 21 January 2019 and 26 January 2020 may be considered by the jury.

Rules of Procedure

The conditions of the selection of 10 productions to be invited are regulated by the rules of procedure.

Theatertreffen Chronicle

The Theatertreffen Chronicle contains all the selected productions of previous years!