Ensemble Resonanz

Isabel Mundry II

Peter Rundel / Riccardo Minasi, conductors
Mundry / Beethoven

A Grinder

Language is ground in Thomas Kling’s “Ethnomühle”. Here only grain to flour: old grinder in Spain. © Agustín Orduña Castillo / Alamy Stock photo

A surprisingly different Beethoven enters into a dialogue with a composer who finds the music of the present in historical material, peeling it apart and digging it up, like a forward-looking archaeologist. In the second part of the Isabel Mundry showcase, the Ensemble Resonanz presents the final version of her piece “Signaturen”, based on the last bar of a Mozart sonata, before Riccardo Minasi conducts the ensemble through an unheard interpretation of Beethoven’s “Eroica”. 

18:10, Exhibition Foyer
Work introduction

With a boundless desire to make music, the greatest precision and a distinct joy in contrasts, Riccardo Minasi, whose knowledge of music historical sources along with their aesthetic context and the instrumental handiwork of historically informed performance practice is practically unrivalled, savours the full dramaturgical potential of music from the most varied periods. After causing an international sensation with breathtaking Mozart interpretations, he now plans to thrill audiences with a surprisingly different Beethoven. As Principal Guest Conductor of the Ensemble Resonanz, Minasi will conduct Beethoven’s “Eroica” for Musikfest Berlin. With Peter Rundel on the platform, the Ensemble Resonanz also presents the world premiere of the final version of Isabel Mundry’s “Signaturen”, in which the composer quotes the last bar of Mozart’s Sonata for two pianos in D major KV 448 in order to develop it further: “Composing a new music inevitably means positioning oneself in the form of approaching or distancing oneself from older music.” In her works Mundry has always been interested in “changing perspectives on what has gone before, from adaptation through transformation to detachment.” These perspectives are also a central motif in “Depuis le Jour”, where pieces by the Dutch late Renaissance composer Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck meet Mundry’s own music to the poem “Ethnomühle” by the poet and essayist Thomas Kling, which, in Mundry’s view, is about “how language always carries changing moments of memory within itself.”


Isabel Mundry (*1963)

Signaturen (2022 – 2024)
for two pianos, percussion and two string groups
world premiere of the final version

Depuis le jour (mit Blick auf Sweelinck) (2012)
for strings and two percussionists 
to texts by Thomas Kling

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Symphony No. 3 in E-flat major op. 55 (1802/03)



Johannes Fischer – percussion
GrauSchumacher Klavier Duo

Ensemble Resonanz
Peter Rundel
conductor (Mundry)
Riccardo Minasi
conductor (Beethoven)

An event by Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin
With the kind support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation