Everything Is Just for a While

70 years of Berliner Festspiele revisited

Approximately 1,000 hours of film footage from public and private archives have been viewed for this exhibition. From this, the sound and pictures have been restored on over 5 hours of film and edited into three video installations that present news, discourse and art spanning 70 years. The 3 channel video installation dedicated to artistic positions from all areas of the festival (260 minutes) moved chronologically through Berliner Festspiele’s history and were presented twice daily.

Concept and dramaturgy
Thomas Oberender, Jeroen Versteele
Video installations
Thilo Fischer, David von der Stein
Partner institutions

       Media partners
Exberliner, Monopol, Wall, York Kinogruppe
Akademie der Künste, Arsenal - Institut für Film und Medienkunst e.V., Associazione Grupporiani, Berlin Art Link, Boosey & Hawkes, Bundesarchiv, Transit Film, EAI Electronic Arts Intermix, Edition Peters Group C.F. Peters Ltd & Co, Felix Bloch Erben, Filmgalerie 451, Japan Actors Association, Kobalt Productions GmbH, MONA productions, Sammlung Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstverein e.V. (n.b.k.), Phenomen Berlin Filmproduktion GmbH, Progress Film GmbH, Suhrkamp Theater Verlag, Shochiku Co. Ltd. Tokyo, Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG, Südwestrundfunk (SWR), Telewizja Polska S.A., ZDF / Arte, ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe
Special thanks to
Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany in Bujumbura (Burundi), Embassy of the People's Republic of China in the Federal Republic of Germany, Bunraku Kyokai, Osaka (Japan), German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), German Broadcasting Archive, Galerie Hauser & Wirth (Zurich), Goethe-Institut Tokyo and Kyoto (Japan), Goethe-Institut Kigali (Rwanda), Japanese-German Centre Berlin, Japan Foundation in Berlin, The Living Theatre, La MaMa Archive, Landesarchiv Berlin, National Ballet of China, Neue Nationalgalerie (SMB), Nohgaku-Kyokai (Association of Noh Actors), Rowohlt Verlag GmbH, Wolf Vostell Estate as well as
René Block, Maksym Demydenko, Guido Diekmann, Ulrich Eckhardt, Helfrid Foron, Petra and Erhard Grosskopf, Felix Gruntz, Werner Heegewaldt, Nathalie Huck, Mona Intemann, Peter Konopatsch, Thorsten Maß, Udo Lindenberg, Ida Müller, Heinz-Dieter Reese, Frieder Schlaich, Julia Schmejkal and Martina Seidel.