Visual: Luis Kürschner, with kind support from Studio Linné

Beyond and Within: AI Talks

A Podcast on Artificial Intelligence

As an essential part of Ether’s Bloom: A Programme on Artificial Intelligence, the new podcast Beyond and Within: AI Talks invites experts, artists and researchers to dive deeper into the world of AI and some of the vital questions it raises. It takes the listeners on a journey of questions, analyses and knowledge, while exploring the many sides of the fast-growing technologies around AI.

Episode 1 | What is AI?

In the first episode, What is AI?, podcast host Eliane Eid talks to cultural scientist, researcher and writer Maya Indira Ganesh. They introduce the audience to the usage of Artificial Intelligence, its relevance and relatability to the general public. The conversation highlights the use of the current terminology “AI” and its effect on today’s technologies and discourses.

Tothe English transcript

Tothe podcast episode on Spotify

Episode 2 | Decoding the Code

In the second episode, Decoding the Code, podcast host Eliane Eid talks to historian and professor Orit Halpern about the power and presence of AI in our daily lives through technological and historical changes. How is AI affecting the fundamentals of what it is like to be human? And how can intersectionality and Artificial Intelligence exist in the presence of categorised data?

Tothe English transcript

Tothe podcast episode on Spotify

Episode 3 | AI All Around Us

In the third episode, AI All Around Us, podcast host Eliane Eid talks to writer, speaker and musician K Allado-McDowell, as well as Robert Maharajh, who is the Editor at Large for the Gropius Bau Journal, about AI as a tool and in the context of wider earthly species. What will its presence mean for us, and for planetary existence in an entangled interspecies world?

Tothe English transcript

Tothe podcast episode on Spotify

Episode 4 | Have we been Trained?

In the fourth episode Have we been Trained?, podcast host Eliane Eid tackles the relation between authorship, creativity, and machine learning. Driven from the practice itself, she questions along with her guests Jenna Sutela and Jonathan Apelbaum the role and importance of AI in different artistic practices, its changes and advantages as well as its limitations. Is the practice forever changing, or are we used to the ongoing shift in the arts? Are we leaning towards more cognitive art creation?

Tothe English transcript

Tothe podcast episode on Spotify

Visual: Luis Kürschner, mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Studio Linné

Beyond and Within: AI Talks

Ein Podcast zu Künstlicher Intelligenz

Im Rahmen von Ether’s Bloom: Ein Programm zu Künstlicher Intelligenz lädt der neue Podcast Beyond and Within: AI Talks Expert*innen, Künstler*innen und Forscher*innen dazu ein, tiefer in die Welt von Künstlicher Intelligenz einzutauchen und sich mit zentralen Fragestellungen auseinanderzusetzen. Er nimmt die Hörer*innen mit auf eine Reise aus Fragen, Analysen und Vorstellungen und erforscht die unterschiedlichen Perspektiven auf die sich schnell weiterentwickelnden Technologien rund um KI.

Episode 1 | Was ist KI?

In der ersten Folge, Was ist KI?, spricht Podcast-Moderatorin Eliane Eid mit der Kulturwissenschaftlerin, Forscherin und Autorin Maya Indira Ganesh. Zusammen geben sie den Hörer*innen einen Einblick in die Funktions- und Wirkungsweisen von Künstlicher Intelligenz und setzen sich mit der Bedeutung für die Öffentlichkeit auseinander. Das Gespräch beleuchtet die Verwendung der aktuellen Terminologie „KI“ und ihre Auswirkungen auf die heutigen Technologien und Diskurse.

Zumdeutschsprachigen Transkript

Zuder Podcastfolge auf Spotify

Episode 2 | Den Code dekodieren

In der zweiten Folge, Den Code dekodieren, spricht Podcast-Moderatorin Eliane Eid mit der Historikerin und Professorin Orit Halpern über die Macht und Präsenz, die KI in unserem täglichen Leben durch technologische und historische Veränderungen gewonnen hat. Wie wirkt sich KI auf die Grundlagen des Menschseins aus? Und wie können Intersektionalität und Künstliche Intelligenz angesichts kategorisierter Daten existieren?

Zumdeutschsprachigen Transkript

Zuder Podcastfolge auf Spotify

Episode 3 | KI  überall um uns herum

In der dritten Folge, KI  überall um uns herum, spricht Podcast-Moderatorin Eliane Eid mit dem*der Autor*in, Redner*in und Musiker*in K Allado-McDowell und mit Robert Maharajh, Editor at Large des Gropius Bau Journal, über KI als Werkzeug und im Zusammenhang mit den menschlichen Beziehungen zu anderen irdischen Spezies. Was bedeutet die Präsenz von KI für Menschen und für die Existenz auf diesem Planeten in einer Welt der miteinander verbundenen Spezies?

Zumdeutschsprachigen Transkript

Zuder Podcastfolge auf Spotify

Episode 4 | Wurden wir trainiert?

In der vierten Folge Wurden wir trainiert? beschäftigt sich Podcast-Moderatorin Eliane Eid mit der Beziehung zwischen Autor*innenschaft, Kreativität und maschinellem Lernen. Gemeinsam mit ihren Gäst*innen Jenna Sutela und Jonathan Apelbaum hinterfragt sie die Rolle und Bedeutung von KI in verschiedenen künstlerischen Praktiken, aktuelle Entwicklungen, Vorteile und Grenzen. Verändern sich Praktiken immer, oder ist der ständige Wandel ohnehin Teil der Kunst? Wird es in Zukunft mehr kognitives Kunstschaffen geben?

Zumdeutschsprachigen Transkript

Zuder Podcastfolge auf Spotify